Our Team

Our year-round team, board members, and seasonal staff dedicate themselves to the Foundation’s mission to move our genres, festivals, and community forward for generations to come.


Jay Sweet
Executive Director

Kira Karbocus
Chief Operating Officer

Christopher Capotosto
Chief Creative Officer

Christian McBride
Artistic Director, Newport Jazz

Dan Swain
Development Director

Jen Rieber
Event Director

Meg Helsel
Publicity Director

Deb Girard
Director of Ticketing & Administration

Billy Glassner
Partnership Director & Archivist

Allison Pangakis
Operations Manager

John Passaro
Production Manager

Becca Peters
Artist Relations Manager

Clara Maurer
Administrative Assistant


Bruce Gordon*

Nicholas Pell*

Tim Albinson
David Berger
Patricia Blanchet
Tom Busard
Dick Cashin*
Nicole Bernard Dawes
Michael Dorf
Leyla Ertegun*
Steven Gewirz
Vikas Kapoor*
Roger Kass
Jessica Kausen
Patrick Kerins
Jim Lanzone
Anthony Lewis
Ronald MacKenzie, MD
Ron McCray
Larry Miller
Ward Mooney
Jay Sweet
William Vareika*

Past Board Members:

George Wein*
Chairman Emeritus & Founder

Jerome Chazen*
Joshua Feigenbaum*
Elliot Hoffman*
William Lewis, Jr.*
Jonathan Nelson
Deborah Ross*
Bruce Trauner*

* Founding Member


Your donation to Newport Festivals Foundation will help ensure the future of our festivals and support musicians and music education programs across the country.